Alternative electricity production methods.

Tells us all about your home, apartment, condo, etc. improvements. Your tips on DIY are most welcome here.

Alternative electricity production methods.

Postby Untameable » Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:58 pm

Looking towards an off the grid property and I'm starting to do some research in this area. I have some experience due to an "off the grid" caravan (trailer for US peeps) setup but I'm somewhat of an electricity pig and while a solar panel, AGM batteries and a couple of generators are all well and good for camping I can see that in a permanent setup petrol for the generator would be a significant expense. I would also be less likely to sacrifice my elec. toys in a permanent setup including my very nice but power hungry new computer. My 2200W 4 stroke generator uses about a litre of petrol an hour (approx 3.8 litres per gallon for US peeps. Thanks to 'Live Free or Die' for correction here.) This makes power generation using this quite costly obviously. My smaller 650W 2 stoke genny uses much less fuel but is not really even powerful enough to run my 50 Amp battery charger. So I'm looking for alternative means to produce power when its night or the sun is not shining and a large solar array is not coping with the load.

I'm wondering if any of our "off the grid" members have any experience with ISES gasifiers or wood fired steam turbines?