Any option traders here?

Bringing home the bacon! Loans, mortgages, savings, car finance, debt problems, making money, losing money, taxation, alimony...discuss all things money here.

Any option traders here?

Postby Mayhem » Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:18 pm

I’ve been studying option trading for over a year now and it has been a blast. I’m still learning though, I want to be familiar with more strategies.

I’ve been paper trading this year and I only lost one major trade and it was on Monsanto back in May where that buyout rumor fucked me in the ass. I deserved that ass rape for using a credit spread strategy on an individual stock. I was a big noob; however I didn’t exit my trade because I was more interested in furthering my knowledge. Also for educational purposes on that trade, my position sizing wasn’t taken into account.

Right now I want to learn and employ volatility, volatility reversion, and directional price reversion strategies. I only use one technical analysis study and that is the RSI 2-6.

My long butterflies have ended up in failure; I still don’t know how to employ that strategy in a non theoretical way.

My debit spreads and long condors are on point.
My last covered call was a success and it was on Microsoft. I bought the stock when it was high 56ish and I wrote a call at 60 and I made money through the premium (because of time decay) and the stock movement itself. It made a big after market move and I sold all my shit the next day.

Things that I took to heart once I moved out of the theoretical aspect of option trading:

1. I will almost never use credit spreads, but if I were to do so it would be on European style indexes with healthy volatility. Still fuck credit and I don’t care what the professionals say.

2. I won’t short for shit but I might try covered puts in the future just to have an idea.

3. Liquidity and volatility are extremely important.