Cheap IP Camera Viewer

Tells us all about your home, apartment, condo, etc. improvements. Your tips on DIY are most welcome here.

Cheap IP Camera Viewer

Postby FapMaster » Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:24 am

Since we don't really have a hobby section, I'm posting this in the DIY section.
I decided to try to use a Raspberry Pi 2 Model B, running Raspbian, to create a display for monitoring IP surveillance camera feeds. The script could be modified for significantly more feeds in virtually any layout.
This is my first project with a Pi and I make no claim to be an expert in Linux, scripting, or Raspberry Pi in general. I borrowed ideas from several sites to complete this gizmo.

I started by using a hikvision DS-2CD2632FI 3mp ip camera:

The only way to view it was either log in on internet explorer, or use an nvr and log in to the nvr with a computer.
Either way using a computer to view one camera is a bit wasteful.
So I bought one of these nifty gadgets:
As you can see, it has usb ports which can be used for mice, keyboards, and wireless wifi modules.As well you could use the usb's for external storage. It also has an HDMI port for video out, the main reason I bought it. Well, that and it was cheap as shit. 38 bucks at Amazon. Pretty bad ass for the price, basically a tiny computer.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00T2U7R7I/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_1?pf_rd_p=1944687582&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B009SQQF9C&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1N9HMTNAG25KF1F92KHG
It uses the SD card for the OS, Raspbian, a form of Linux (Debian). All hail Ian Murdock. They have a window OS, too.

I reallocated resources for the video and loaded a current version of OS. I finally got the settings right and the scripts to run properly and voila! It works!
Disclaimer: picture above is not me nor my office, too incriminating. My office is a lot messier, lots of projects in various stages of disrepair. Pic is close though.